Innovation Platforms

Fallacy Alarm
The US oil production boom
Disclaimer: The information contained in this article is not and should not be construed as investment advice. This is my investing journey and I simply share what I do and why I do that for educational and entertainment purposes. This article is entirely free to read…
Read more
Fallacy Alarm
Lilly, Novo and the quest for curing obesity (incl. Excel workbook)
Technological innovation can capture value for shareholders when it positively impacts customers. The more people are impacted by an innovation and the more profound the impact per individual, the more disruptive the innovation will prove to be. Obesity is one of the biggest ailments of humanity and causes all kinds of follow-up issues ranging from mental health to cardiovascular diseases and even cancer. According to the WHO, obesity causes 5% of deaths globally and more than 650 million people are living with it. Direct and indirect costs associated with obesity are estimated to cost 2% of GDP every single year. A staggering number that is actually expected to increase dramatically over the coming decades…
Read more
Fallacy Alarm
How the Inflation Reduction Act will spark the Great 2020s American Renewable Capex Party
If you interested in my take on the current inversion of the US yield curve and what it means for interest rates, inflation, the economy and asset prices in generally, check out this article which I published for paid subscribers earlier this week:Fallacy Alarm is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becomin…
Read more
Fallacy Alarm
Dumb vs. Smart Energy
Before we dive in: Fallacy Alarm has now hit 1,000 subscribers. Thank you to everyone who sees value in my work to subscribe to receive more. And a special shoutout to those who opted to pay for it. While this newsletter has grown substantially, the revenue is still small. But getting paid for chasing my passion means more to me than any paycheck I have…
Read more
Fallacy Alarm
From BioPharma to Industrial Biotech
The podcast version of this article is available here. From Medicine to Cosmetics to Materials to Food Ever since I saw this chart, I can’t stop thinking about it: Biotechnology is "the integration of natural sciences and engineering sciences in order to achieve the application of organisms, cells, parts thereof and molecular analogues for products and ser…
Read more
Fallacy Alarm
Charged Up
Energy = Economy In mid 2014, oil prices started crashing massively from above $100 to $35 by January 2016. This was driven by structural and increasing oversupply due to the US shale gas revolution. Enabled by technological innovation in horizontal drilling and hydraulic fracturing, the US reversed the long term trend of declining output. Produ…
Read more
Fallacy Alarm
Real World AI Computing as the next big innovation platform
Innovation events as major wealth creation catalysts These are challenging times for investors. The more stress we have in financial markets, the more short term trends overshadow long term trends. There are some market participants who thrive in this as they can consistently generate profits by anticipating short-term cyclical trends. I am not one of th…
Read more
Fallacy Alarm
A sober look at Crypto
How blockchain fits into my investing philosophy If you have read a couple of my articles you may have noticed that my goal with this blog/newsletter is not just sharing my views on isolated topics, but over time providing a comprehensive picture of how I view investing with articles that build on/reference one another to form the overall mosaic of my pe…
Read more